The Year that was 2015

2015 hasn’t been very kind to me (and to my friends for that matter). In fact, I would go as far to say that it was one of my worst years ever. But, just like any other year, 2015 also had its share of good times.

Without further ado, I present to you, dear friends the year that was 2015.

Deaths in the family

There has been an inordinate amount of death in my circle this year. My mother died in February, losing a two year battle with breast cancer. A distant aunt followed suit soon after, same cause. One of my best friends, Johnny Danganan (who also lost his mother a few months earlier), joined his maker as well in October later in the year. It’s my hope that it’s going to be the last we’re going to see of the Grim Reaper at least for a little while.

Going back to work

I entered the BPO industry as the Marketing and Creative Services Manager for CLEAR Corporate Solutions, a BPO servicing small to medium sized businesses in Australia. I’ve been away from the traditional corporate set up for more than 7 years and people have been quite surprised at my decision to return to the fold. In light of my recent loss I thought that having a familiar routine with a supportive structure would be good for me.

Chasing light

After a long time and much prodding from friends who are also into photography, I finally took the plunge and bought a DSLR. I actually had a basic photography class back in college (back when film was the thing instead of memory cards). There’s a certain thrill at being a novice again and re-learning an old skill using new tech. I’ve also met a lot of new friends through this new hobby, people I wouldn’t have otherwise met, and for that I am really grateful.

Life in panels

I have been purposely avoiding the comic book circuit these days. Ever since Johnny died, anything comics reminded me too much of him thus the decision to stay away. I haven’t completely left however. A project I was commissioned to do earlier this year will be seeing print soon and will be distributed nationally. I stuck mainly with the writing and project management this time, leaving the production to my long-time collaborator Neil Amiel Cervantes and his team of creatives.

I know some of you guys out there have been worried about me but I’m fine (or will be soon enough).

What does 2016 hold? I really don’t know. There was a time when I eagerly awaited the New Year, eager to face challenges and find new achievements. While I do look forward to 2016, I face it with a more patient and relaxed attitude.

I’ll see you all on the other side.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Sorry to hear you really had a rough time this year. I know the feeling, so I can really relate. Sometimes I still do feel sad over a lot of things, a lot of them beyond my control anyway. But what can we do but try to go on…?

    So I wish for you a very good year ahead. And Merry Christmas, BTW.

    Like

    1. jonasdiego says:

      The show must go on, as they say in show business. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So true. Oh, and kahit di kami close, please say hello to Sir Gerry for me na rin. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. jonasdiego says:

        Will do when I visit him. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

