What the Future has in Store

It was 2005 and I was in Eastwood where a Psychic Festival was currently being held.

Out of curiosity (and partly because of prodding…okay, it was mostly because of prodding) I decided to have my fortune told by one of the psychics participating in the festival. I approached the young lady in charge of registration, paid my fee, and I was assigned a number.

I didn’t have to wait for very long before it was my turn.

I was ushered in to one of the tables where an old lady was sitting with a grin that would put the Cheshire Cat to shame.

“Anu’ng style gusto mo?” she asked in a pleasant tone.

“Ho!?”

“Gusto mo ba Tarot Reading, Palm Reading…?”

“Ahh…Tarot Reading na lang po” I replied.

“Ano ba ang gusto mong malaman?”

At that time I was actually pretty content with my life in general and had no real major issues that I needed insight on. Failing to come up with something specific, I asked for a general reading instead.

She shuffled the cards, made me pick a certain number, and arranged them in a pattern.

Her reading on my past and present were so-so, I guess. There were a lot of details but were pretty general once I thought about it. I wasn’t really impressed.

Things got interesting when she got to my future though.

“Magkakaroon ka ng bagong trabaho.”

“Eh?” I stared at her blankly.

This was the time I was still the Marketing and Business Development Officer for MRM Studios and I had no plans whatsoever of looking for another job.

“Tapos pupunta ka sa…America!” she said with emphasis.

“Magtatrabaho ka para sa isang Kano!”

At that time I just passed it off as a load of baloney and decided not to take it too seriously. She finished her reading, thanked her for her time, and went on my merry way.

Of course, her predictions did come to pass.

Not two months after the reading, I indeed resigned from my old job to work as the Studio Director of Interactive Arts Services (IAS) Manila, Inc. I did go to the US to attend the Annual Company Meeting and Christmas Party.

I still think about that old lady and wonder if she really had powers or just plain lucked out.

Maybe I’ll go to Eastwood again one of these days for their psychic festival and have another reading done.

I hope she still does fortune telling.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. basilmclean says:

    I think that lines on palm can help!

    Like

    1. jonasdiego says:

      So they say. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

